Uh..He..*Cough*..Hello..

Now I must get this out of the way first.

 

I must stress to NEVER MOUNT YOUR OWN POSTERS TO BOARDS.

 

For the love of God.

Get someone else to do it or just get it printed straight onto the boards.

 

I have spent way too much money on posters, boards and adhesive and for what? Boards that have ripples and that do not stick.

 

“It’s your own fault, you cannot correctly mount posters! Idiot”

 

HEY! Listen.

 

On the specifications of the brief it spoke of the correct paper to use for the presentation boards, Matt or Satin is preferred. I chose Satin.

 

I was later told following a last-minute reprint that the paper I chose, Satin, is completely wrong for mounting….

IT DOESN’T WORK. ITS NOT MEANT TO WORK.

 

“Well why didn’t you print it straight to boards in the first place?”

 

Okay….Touché

 

Balls.

 

Well it looks like for the exhibition I may need to reprint and re-mount my posters AGAIN. I noticed during the presentation that the updated BOM poster had a few very noticeable ripples that will stand out when hung on the walls.

 

Goodbye Summer Fund.

Now to reflect upon the presentation

 

A few short words to describe what happened, how I felt about the presentation and what I would change if I could go back.

 

The night before the presentation I found myself struggling to sleep, going over each slide and what would be discussed. I was Confident. Nervous. Scared.

 

What if I mess it all up?

What if I cannot answer any of the questions?

Do I know this project as well as I think I do?

 

Fast Forward to the morning.

 

7am.

I am in university double checking the presentation.

 

I have too much to say, I need to add more writing to the presentation.

 

LOOK AT THE WORDS! I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT GUYS!

 

9:30am

 

Sitting outside the presentation room

 

Looking in through the window at fellow students presenting their work.

 

They say it is a relaxed environment.

 

We shall see.

 

DING DING DING

 

It’s my turn.

 

Oh God. IM NOT READY

 

I walk inside the room. I feel like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

 

Two Lecturers. Calm.

 

I feel…. Relaxed.

 

I set up my laptop, chat with the one lecturer.

Small Talk.

 

Whilst presenting my work the one thing in my mind was to ensure I finish. The previous year I managed to get 40% of the way through my presentation and then I was cut off as I had used all the time. Finishing was essential. I believe I spoke confidently throughout, ensured eye contact whilst discussing certain aspects of the design. Elaborating of key issues and facts such as manufacturing processes or difficulties.

I was able to get to the end of the presentation.

 

How long was I? I must have been close.

 

7 minutes. What? Have I left something out?

 

I look at my notes. I have discussed it all! Now it is time for the Q&A. Now a few questions I thought would come up included those relating to manufacturing, the design itself and perhaps reasoning. They all came up. Questions concerning the reasoning for the casing being made from aluminium, the manufacturing process of the driving gear and longevity of the materials. All handled confidently.

 

I believe that the presentation went surprisingly well (Wouldn’t it be awkward if I get the mark and I have a Third or a 2:2). I feel like they liked that my design was different, I provided improvements within the presentation I believe the product would need for the next generation of development and I think they also liked that, I am basing this on their facial expressions whilst I answered the questions.

 

I would like to say that I am confident in the outcome of the project, I am still hoping that I get a 1st. The most important thing for me now is focusing on the facsimile model and getting that finished in time for the exhibition where the marking of the project will be continued. I believe I could lose marks on the model as the finishing is currently not where I would like it to be. PERFECT. That’s where I want it. Currently it’s at GARBAGE.

A lot of work to do, obviously.

 

I plan to dedicate a full post on ripping the facsimile model to shreds in terms of the finishing so…. look out for that one.

It will be a good’un.

 

 

Leave a Reply

