The Conqueror

I began the day, Friday the 7th of April by getting the CNC’d prototype tidied up and glued together. Once that had dried I asked a fellow designer what he thought of the design in just a few words.

 

‘Simple, in a good way’

‘Easy on the eye’

 

It was suggested that I CNC the chuck and the trigger to gain more of an insight into what the drill would look like.

 

Image of the prototype in hand.

17838512_10209027496464525_1738289457_o
Testing the ergonomics of the drill casing

 

17797427_10209027496744532_1999230830_o
Difficult to answer due to the trigger and the chuck not being present.

 

Next order of business.

 

3D Printing the gear components.

 

The Problem?

The scale just is not right.

Not 100% Anyways

 

Evidence.

 

Now in perspective nothing seems wrong or out of place.

 

Apart from the handle and the crank arm being a little small.

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.39 (1)
Testing the prototype.
WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.39 (4)
Just taking a look at the components put together

 

One thing that needs to be changed it the handle that the user would hold on to in order to crank, it could be a little tedious to use as it is rather small.

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.40
The Handle’s Size

 

I believe I may scale all of the used components up a bit to ensure the size is how I want it to be.

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.39
A separate handle that I printed to question size.

 

Now I wont be making the handle this large but I thought it could be interesting to test out the ergonomics of the handle in relation to size. I believe the best way is to have something in between the two sizes.

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.39 (2)
The crank arm – Perhaps a little small.

 

I shall be increasing the length of the arm so the user rotates the handle at a larger diameter.

Does that make sense?

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.09.39 (3)
A part of the main gear. I like the size but it could change.

 

I was also able to 3D print the freewheel component, shown below.

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.50.33
The Freewheel Component – Too Small to Function from 3D Printing.

I also printed to gear teeth that attach to the main gear body, I forgot to take a photograph of the separate component before gluing the two together.

This shows the teeth attached:

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-07 at 15.57.28.jpeg

 

This Friday has be very productive with prototyping and user testing. I am happy with the results I have gathered. I shall continue on my conquest for the most interesting drill come the end of the year.

The next step is to refine the casing prototype and CNC another model but with all of the components shown like the trigger and the drill chuck. I also want to make the components I printed today work as a functional model just so it shows for the drill would work using the handle etc.

So far so good.

One Reply to “The Conqueror”

Leave a Reply

