Teenage Kicks – Cultural Approaches to Dr. Martens Boots

I found this weeks keynotes lecture a lot more informative than the previous, this particular lecture focused on the image of brands and the example used was Dr. Marten boots and it was presented by Cath Davies.

Some Important points that I wrote down during this lecture:

  • Meaning Behind Function
  • The Cultural Biography Of Things
  • Objects Can Be Modified To Adopt A New Meaning
  • Modifications Are Identity Statements
  • Identities Are Performed
  • Objects Are Ways Of Thinking About Character

These points are what I learnt during this lecture, I feel that as I begin new projects I will be able to easily use these points as a guide for making products that seem to allow the individuals to make it ‘their own’.

I would like to say that I will be able to use this new-found information in my next project but I am not aware of this brief at this time, I am looking forward to being able to research into the history of different materials, forms and meanings in the not so distant future.

Leave a Reply

