Transparency: Literal and Phenomenal – Week Three

(c) David Messum; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation
(c) David Messum; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

For this weeks Study Group we visited the ‘Amgueddfa Cymru – National Museum Wales’ where we were given more information about the assignment and essay that is due in for January the 11th.

I was given a quote and also a book page to read:

Quote:

‘The beginnings and ends of shadow lie between the light and darkness and may be infinitely diminished and infinitely increased. Shadow is the means by which bodies display their form. The forms of bodies could not be understood in detail but for shadow.’ The Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci (1452 – 1519)

 

We were asked to define three dimensions without looking at what the internet or the ‘true’ definition was, then try to look at what the two quotes were saying and then discuss what we thought and what our opinions were. I’ll be honest, I found this concept quite easy to grasp, I immediately had an idea of what I wanted to base my essay on but all I really needed was an “Okay” from Dr. Mahnaz Shah since I wasn’t really confident with what my idea was (I need to work on that..A Lot!).

My Concept: The Three Dimensions of Design (Could go up to five dimensions)

The first dimension is emotion and how the product makes you feel.

The second dimension is the material that is used and how it allows for the person to feel a connection to the design.

The third dimension is the thought and experience that you feel whilst you look at the design, this is not literal but phenomenal.

I began to adventure around the museum looking for paintings/sculptures/ceramics that I felt a connection to and that I thought I could use as examples in my essay, It wasn’t too difficult and whilst looking at the paintings my confidence grew as I began to think and structure how I would talk about them whilst connection the dots with each part of the assignment.

I decided quite early on that I would leave the quotes out for the day whilst I look at the different areas in the museum, I wanted to just look at what interested me and then go from there in the next few visits that are planned. From the visit to the museum I had a solid idea (in my opinion) where I could develop in the next few weeks where I plan on getting a better idea of where I want this conversation to go and where I want to conclude.

Overall I really enjoyed this weeks study group, I was given a lot of confidence from Dr. Mahnaz Shah and I feel that I have developed my understanding tremendously throughout these few weeks (especially this week) – I have identified what I need to do in order to complete my essay and with the ideas I have and the references I will be using, I am confident I will be able to complete this task to a high standard.

Leave a Reply

