Transparency: Literal and Phenomenal – Week One

I was quite nervous about starting the study group this week, I wasn’t sure what to expect in terms of work load or the style of teaching. The day started with around fifteen to twenty students showing up, Dr. Mahnaz Shah began the study group by introducing what our time there would be like and what things we will be looking into – then she went across the room where we introduced ourselves and explained what we thought transparency was through our of definitions which I found interesting with the variety of answers that were shared.

During the first half an hour I found myself feeling uncomfortable whilst I questioned my intelligence because of the others seeming very comfortable within the group. After being introduced and being relatively settled Dr. Mahnaz asked us to find groups of three so we could continue with an exercise, after everyone had gathered three words were placed on the projector: ‘Dreams‘, ‘Consciousness‘ and ‘Existentialism’ now prior to this study group I only knew the meaning of the first two words which was worrying because Dr. Mahnaz asked us to discuss the meanings and our thoughts of the three words so we could present and discuss our findings near the end of the class, we were also asked to discuss the meaning of the quote:

“In each of us there is another whom we do not know. He speaks to us in dreams and tells us how differently he sees us from the way we see ourselves” C.G.Jung, ‘Civilization in Transition.

I found that as time went on I became more comfortable with thinking and questioning other people’s thoughts and theories, I felt like I was understanding what was asked and I started to enjoy the time talking with the people in my group about the quote and our different interpretations of what C.G.Jung had said. This was only the first study group session but I feel relatively comfortable and I am looking forward to week two’s project where I hope to learn more so I can think about product design at an interesting angle around the end of these study group sessions when I compare back to this week.

Leave a Reply

